free the pen, a blog for writers

July 16, 2011

Ever Hear of Author, Shawn Kirsten Maravel?

Filed under: Uncategorized — freethepen @ 2:42 pm

Ever hear of author, Shawn Kirsten Maravel?? Probably not, because Shawn is a new author– so let me introduce you to her. Author, Shawn Kirsten Maravel is a writer with spunk, talent and a gift for telling a story. Her two new books, Volition and Severance are a series and can be ordered on Amazon.com. If you read Volition, I promise you, that you will want to read Severance. I read each book in one weekend. I was lucky to have Shawn agree to an author interview. I submit it below.

But first, I want to give you my review.

Volition is about a young woman named Charlotte Rush who faces every woman’s nightmare: someone slips a drug into her drink while she is out with her girlfriends. The plot twists and turns as Charlotte meets a man (or is he??) and begins a romantic relationship with him. Now, this is no ordinary romance novel and I hate to say anymore than this. The plot is too amazing to reveal before you get a chance to read it for yourself.  In Severance, Shawn picks up Charlotte’s life where Volition ends and throws it into yet another twist of fate that will have you leaving dirty dishes in the sink, forgetting to feed the dog and leaving your husband waiting outside with the car running until you finish the book. But don’t say over until you have read the last word. Just as I was getting to the very end and thought the excitement was over, Shawn threw another one at me. All I can say is: I wanted more. The story is so compelling that it will have you overlooking a few spelling errors and some of the things seasoned writers know about plots. But I promise you, Shawn Kirsten Maravel’s books are so fascinating that you will instantly forgive her  and keep reading, overlooking the fact that she is new at being an author. I can’t wait to read her next book, which Shawn described is almost finished.

Without any more hesitation, here is my interview with Author, Shawn Kirsten Maravel:

                            Shawn has recently changed the covers, although you might still see these on Amazon.com. I do not have books with the new covers.

1. What made you come up with your story idea?

Volition started off with a question that I’d asked myself, “Who cares for you in spite of your flaws, has been there in your darkest hours, wants your happiness over their own, and loves you more than anyone?” I answered that question with a paranormal character, Joel.
From there the story and the plot unfolded.

2. Do you have a writing regimen?

If by that you mean a set time that I write, no. Every story I write takes a different amount of time to write. Volition spanned over about nine months start to finish while The Wanderer was written in less than two months. What I try to do every day is keep writing, promoting
my other books, and researching my current book when it’s not the right time for me to write. I take breaks in my work and let ideas come to me as opposed to forcing it. I’ve happened upon a lot of great twists and turns in my stories writing in this way. If I feel that the writing runs the risk of feeling stagnant and repetitive I step away for a bit until I can find something fresh to contribute to the story.

3. What do you like best about your books Volition and Severance?

What I like best about the books is how they work together yet they stand alone. Severance has a lot more going on than Volition does because Volition was a build up to Severance. But without it Severance wouldn’t work. I think that they complement one another well and had
I tried to make them one book it wouldn’t have worked, nor would stretching them out to three books.

Author’s bio: Shawn Maravel was born in a small New Jersey town parked right smack dab in the middle of farm country. She has a twin sister and two kid sisters. When her husband joined the Army and was stationed in Germany she packed up her things and moved to Germany to be with him. Making the most of the Army life Shawn has traveled around Europe as much as possible and considers Germany her home. She
has lived there for  the last two and a half years there. She spends most of her time reading, writing books, and spending time with her husband, faithful Rottweiler, and ninja cat.

I do hope you enjoyed this interview. I welcome any and all comments and if you have an inclination to check out Shawn Kirsten Maravel’s books, please go to Amazon.com

Until next time,

Jan

2 Comments »

  1. Good interview. Shawn, I wish you the very best as you travel forward in writing!

    Deborah Owen
    Creative Writing Institute

    Comment by Deborah Owen — July 16, 2011 @ 8:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

