free the pen, a blog for writers

September 10, 2011

Interview with Cory Cotton

Filed under: Interviews — freethepen @ 10:16 pm
Upon one of my visits to the local bookstore I started talking to a young man who said he had written a book. I had no idea what an amazing young person he is. Within minutes I was engrossed in his new book Go Big:Make Your Shot Count in the Connected World. Although I have not read Cory’s book yet, his mission to lead people into following their dreams blew my socks off. Please, if you read only one book this year (separate from mine of course) read Go Big.  Here is my amazing interview with this huge-hearted young man.
1. Go Big is a curious title? Could you tell me what your book is about?
Go Big: Make Your Shot Count in the Connected World, is our story (the story of the college-aged YouTube basketball shooting group, Dude Perfect) woven around 5 practical principles designed to take your passions, skills, and dreams to the next level. Over the last two years, we’ve seen a lot of crazy things happen in a very short amount of time. We simply want to share what we’ve learned in the hopes of helping others successfully pursue the passions that uniquely stir them. And all of this, we believe, positions each reader to use that platform for a cause greater than himself/ herself.
2. What do you want your readers to get out of Go Big?
My desire is for each and every reader to develop, if they don’t already have it, a truly Go Big mindset. I want the reader to walk away from this book with a drastically bigger view of both the world, and more specifically, of their potential in it.
3. Your book is quite a creative project? What do you plan on doing with it now that it is published?
About a year and a half ago, I felt God telling me to write this book. I thought that was stupid haha. But after a solid amount of hesitation, I decided to be obedient, and I started what turned out to be a long, difficult, but ultimately worthwhile process of seeing Go Big published (Tyndale House Publishers). As it hits the shelves over the course of this month (September), myself and the rest of the Dude Perfect crew will be focusing our efforts on the publicity side of the project, as well as various speaking engagements (from colleges to churches to conferences – that type of thing). Publicity wise, I’ve got a few interviews scheduled already (A Fox interview in NY on Sept 14, for example), and I’m sure I will spend long days and nights tweeting and sending emails to anyone and everyone I can think of. And, in about a week and a half, we’ll be blasting out the news about the book to our YouTube audience. Truth is, I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you I’m extremely anxious to see how Go Big
does. But whether we ever see a best seller’s list or not (that’s our Go Big goal), I rest in the fact that, at the end of the day, I obeyed Jesus with the
call to write a book about all that He’s allowed us to do over the past two years. I feel blessed either way.
4. What other projects are you working on now?
Dude Perfect is a YouTube group, so we’re always working on new video content to keep our brand fresh, relevant, and hopefully, in the media’s eye. Besides that, we recently released an iPhone game self titled “Dude Perfect.” If you’ve ever seen Angry Birds, this has that same feel, but with basketball 🙂 We worked with a development group out in Arizona to make this happen. The game has done well, climbing as high as #15 on the iPhone charts. All that to say, we’re continually working on that project. Also, we just got back from a two week mission trip to Africa (working with orphanages and a clean water project), so we’ll be promoting the various organizations we worked with, in hopes of bringing awareness to the incredible need over there. At the end of the day, we know that it is our responsibility to use whatever size platform we have for a
cause greater than ourself. We’ve seen far too many people swallowed up in their own story, so we want to do everything we can to keep that from being our fate.
5. Do you plan to write other books?
I didn’t always know I wanted to be a writer, but through this process, I think God has shown me that writing might very well be a part of his
plan for me. So to answer your question, yes, I would absolutely love to write more books in the future. I don’t have a clue what they would be yet though. I’m open for suggestions haha.
6. Anything else you want your readers to know about you and this project?
Interviews, publicity, best seller’s lists… All this stuff, in my opinion, is secondary to the purpose of this book. I wrote this book because God
told me to write it. That may sound weird to some of you, and if it does, I totally get that. It sounded weird to me too. But now that it’s done, I’m
beginning to see why he put it on my heart in the first place. Through this process, I’ve become incredibly passionate about the fact that people should do what they were made to do, and not settle for simply going through the motions of life. Go Big is all about relentlessly pursuing your passions, the thing or things that make your heart beat the way it was designed. I think God made us that way. I think he made us to dream big dreams, and I think he wants us to pursue them like crazy, and then use the resulting platform for things that make him smile (like hugging a kid in Africa, for example). I know I’ve mentioned God a lot, and I don’t really mean to. I never want to tell anyone what to believe, but I will tell others what I believe. That’s how I like others to interact with me about their spiritual beliefs, at least. So to end this interview, I want to thank Jan for the opportunity to share with you about my book. I thank God for giving me the chance to meet awesome people like Jan –
people who, against the odds, are pursuing their dreams.
If you’d like to learn more about Go Big, check out the product details page on the Publisher’s website here: http://www.tyndale.com/Go-Big/9781414361376 If you still have no idea what Dude Perfect is, learn more at www.DudePerfect.com
Thanks for reading, and hopefully Jan will have me back sometime to update
you all on how Go Big is doing. Best of luck to all of your Go Big dreams!
God Bless,  Cory Cotton
I apologize to Cory for not being able to put a picture of his book in this interview. It was sent within the email and I didn’t know how to extract it.
Until next time,
Keep the pen moving,
Jan
2 Comments »

  1. I really enjoyed reading this interview, perhaps in part because that’s why I created Creative Writing Institute. It was a direct calling from God… one that I wanted to run from since I had already had enough of dealing with cancer patients. I didn’t want any more pain, but I’m learning that there is more quantity of satisfaction in answering my call.

    The second thing that impressed me is that this is a young man – I wish I knew how old and if he had an agent, how long it took to write the book, etc. I’m going to try to find him and have a little chat. Thanks for the interview, Jan. Very interesting.

    Comment by Deborah Owen — September 11, 2011 @ 12:20 am | Reply

  2. Cory would love to hear from you. But be careful, his enthusiasm is contagious.

    Comment by freethepen — September 12, 2011 @ 9:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

