free the pen, a blog for writers

May 28, 2017

Hero

Filed under: Uncategorized — freethepen @ 1:19 pm

Me and Dad 1987 This is the weekend to honor heroes, those who have served the country, our families, our lives. My Dad is my hero. He not only served the country during WW II in the Army, but he was there when he was needed in the family as well. I think of all the little things he did: drove me to teen age parties across Brooklyn in snowstorms after working a hard day, buying me my favorite cherry pie on Sunday getting up early to buy bread and pastries while we slept, washing and waxing my car, and some big ones too: studying to become a Mason so he could sit in the member-only meetings while I was Queen of the Triangle girls pushing himself to the limits of his education. I am in awe of his sacrifices. He never complained. He only offered his services.

Keep the pen moving,

Jan

JanMarquart.com and CanYouFindMyLove.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

