free the pen, a blog for writers

June 13, 2017

Friend

Filed under: memoir — freethepen @ 3:05 pm

JanandPeter2015 Here I am with Peter. He is my longest living friend. When he came to town two years ago we went to lunch and I got to meet his lovely wife. How long do I know Peter? Since we were 8. Here is how we met:

One day while playing on the sidewalk with my girlfriends, a moving van stopped up the hot Brooklyn street. I ran to it to find out who was moving in. A heavy-set black man was lifting something out of the van and I asked, “Who’s moving in?” “He is,” he said and pointed behind me. I turned around and found myself staring eye to eye with Peter. His orange-red hair formed a halo around his head. His eyes were green and his face was covered in freckles. I stuffed my hands into the pockets of my Osh Kosh overalls and blushed. Peter was the most beautiful human being I had ever seen. Turns out we had the same birthday. My mother used to ask Peter to make a list of his boy friends and I’d make a list of my girl friends. She’d take all of us to the movies and the ice cream parlor on our birthday for our party.

When I was 12 my family moved into another neighborhood and Peter and I lost touch. When I was 34 my mother died. I went to the bank to help my father with the finances and our teller turned out to be Peter’s mother who told me Peter was living in California. “So am I,” I exclaimed. I got in touch with Peter and we have kept in touch over the years.

It is unique and special to have a friend who understands a part of where you came from, how it formed you, and who can share childhood memories.

Who is your longest-living friend? Write out how you met and how the years have kept you close.

Keep the pen moving,

Jan

JanMarquart.com and CanYouFindMyLove.com

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

