free the pen, a blog for writers

July 10, 2017

Favorite Artist

Filed under: memoir — freethepen @ 2:02 pm

Thinking Cute Kid Girl Looking. Instagram Effect Portrait Think for a minute. Who is your favorite artist? What is your favorite piece of art and what about the artist’s work do you enjoy?

Years ago, I went to the De Young Museum in San Franscisco to see a Picasso exhibit. As I stared at one of his paintings, I turned my head to the left and nearly fell apart. A huge painting, titled, Two Women, (as I remember the name) had a profound impact on me. I must have stood in front of it for 20 minutes fighting back tears. It gave off an endearing, tender, powerful punch. Rectangles and cubes, circles and twists, came together in a revealing sense of the female, but not just that. It was the tenderness of the two women connecting with each other. Whether he was depicting sisters, mother with daughter, friends, it was difficult to decipher. It captured the feminine essence and I was deeply touched.

Although I have many favorite authors, this one piece, and the experience it gave me, will remain with me forever. What is the piece of art that has moved you?

Keep the pen moving,

JanMarquart.com and CanYouFindMyLove.com

JanMa

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

