free the pen, a blog for writers

August 3, 2017

The Human Body

Filed under: Journal writing — freethepen @ 3:01 pm

African Kids Playing On Swing In Neighborhood.

What is your favorite and most fascinating part of the human body? Maybe it’s your legs as they push you against the ground to go higher on a swing. Perhaps it is your elbows because no other part of the body has a “funny bone.” Perhaps it is your curly hair that lets you know the weather is getting humid as it curls tighter.

My mother handed me a blue Melmac cup. I must have been five or six then crawled under our pine Christmas tree and began pulling out my eyelashes. I suppose my mother thought I was picking up dried pine needles so she never asked me what I was doing. I was spellbound by the first eyelash I saw fall out of my eyelid. How could they stay so small, fragile, fall out, then grow back? How come they don’t grow long like my hair? They still capture my curiosity as I dress them in mascara and watch them appear longer.

Such a curious part of the human face.

Keep the pen moving,

Jan

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

